Academy Recognizes Couris, Ford, Gee, Moore & Perry With Elite Leadership IMPACT Awards


San Diego, CA, May 6, 2020 – The Elite Leadership Academy (ELA) has announced the recipients of its 2020 Elite Leadership IMPACT Awards. The IMPACT Award is presented to the persons who best exemplify the principles of Elite Leadership through the impact they make in their daily practice of leadership.

This award is for leaders who are making an impact in their organization, an impact in their industry and an impact in their community. They are the exceptional leaders that people want to work for, people want to hear, and people want to know.

For 2020, the ELA focused on leaders who made an impact during the pandemic or in social justice. Many of the recipients impacted both. The recipients for the 2020 award are:

  • John Couris, President & CEO, Tampa General Hospital (Healthcare) for his work leading the hospital during the COVID-19 pandemic and throughout the state of Florida.
  • Robert B. Ford, President & CEO, Abbott Laboratories (Business) for leading the development of eight COVID-19 point-of-care tests, including the ability to deliver positive results in as little as five minutes and negative results in 13 minutes.
  • E. Gordon Gee, President, West Virginia University (Education) for leading the university during the pandemic and social justice.
  • Maya Moore, Founder, Win with Justice & WNBA Champion (Sports) for the sabbatical she took during the prime of her basketball career to fight for social justice.
  • Tyler Perry, Founder, Tyler Perry Studios (Entertainment) for his leadership in keeping his studio operating in a ‘bubble’ environment, saving many jobs and for his numerous acts of generosity throughout the community.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to be part of the Elite Leadership Academy recognition,” stated Gordon Gee, President of West Virginia University.

“Last year was a challenging year for everyone and we saw a lot of leaders step up to the moment. Our Award Committee thought these leaders stood out from the rest in their practice of leadership,” according to ELA Executive Director, Bryan Bennett,

Recipients have already received a printed certificate with their award packet. The award will be shipped directly to recipients from the vendor to adhere to COVID-19 precautions. Professor Bennett will schedule video interviews with each recipient over the next couple of months.

About the Elite Leadership Academy. The Elite Leadership Academy (ELA) is dedicated to the improvement of leadership in all industries and organization levels using a personalized, process-based approach that is adaptable to almost any leadership encounter with measurable results. The Elite Leadership Training Program is based on the Elite Leadership Process™ detailed in the book, Prescribing Leadership in Healthcare, and the upcoming book, The Path to Elite Level Leadership, both written by the Founder and Executive Director, J. Bryan Bennett. The program is offered with online and onsite courses in either self-study or guided-study formats.